Click to Home
Your GovernmentCity ServicesOur CommunityHow Do I
Go To Search
Zoning Board of Appeals
Established by Ordinance 182, adopted November 23, 1953, in accordance with Act 207 of P.A. of 1921 of the State of Michigan; City Code Sections 5.244-5.255 Chapter 52

To hear and decide all matters referred to it upon which it is required to pass under Chapter 52; and to hear and decide appeals where it is alleged by the building inspector in the enforcement of Chapter 52 of the City Code.

Five members are appointed, one of whom shall be a member of the Planning Commission, all appointed by the mayor with the consent of the City Commission for three-year terms. Amended September 21, 1987 to add the following: The City Commission may appoint two alternate members of the Zoning Board of Appeals (ZBA). Each alternate shall be appointed for a three-year term.

An alternate member shall sit as a regular member of the ZBA when: 
  • A regular member is absent from or unable to attend a meeting of the ZBA
  • A regular member is unable to participate in reaching a decision on a particular case because of a conflict of interest

The alternate member having been appointed shall serve in the case until a final decision has been made. An alternate shall have the same rights and privileges as a regular member when serving in the place of a regular member.

First Thursday of each month, if there are agenda items, at 7 pm.  Submission deadlines and meeting dates can be found here.

The application can be found here by selecting Community Development and the sub-folder "Applications". There are two different applications for use or non-use (dimensional) variance requests.  Please note that there is a fee associated with this application.  If you have any questions about applying to this board please contact Greta Bolhuis at (734) 453-1234 ext. 224.

Name Appointed Term Expires
Kara Guimmo, Chair    December 2015
December 31, 2021 
Joe Elliott, Vice-Chair
December 2016 December 31, 2022
Jim Burrows  April 2017  December 31, 2021 
Michael Devine  December 2005  December 31, 2021 
Ed Krol  September 2016  December 31, 2022 
Mike Gowen, Alternate September 2017 December 31, 2022
Scott Silvers, Alternate (PC Liaison) December 2015  December 31, 2021
Ed Krol, City Comm. Liaison December 2017 N/A
Tony Sebastian,City Comm Liaison March 2019  N/A
201 S. Main (Second Floor)
Plymouth, MI 48170
Ph: (734) 453-1234 ext. 232
Fx: (734) 455-1824

John Buzuvis
Community Development Director
Ph: (734) 453-1234 ext. 222

Greta Bolhuis, AICP
Assistant Community Development Director
Ph: (734) 453-1234 ext. 224

Brent Strong
Building Official
Ph: (734) 453-1234 ext. 229

Marleta Barr
Office Manager
Ph: (734) 453-1234 ext. 232

Paul Rakovitis
Code Enforcement Officer
Ph. (734) 453-1234 ext. 231

Ph: (734) 738-0289